COUCH TO 5K DAY 23

tired
‘Running slow to get far’, is a fellow blogger,  SlowRunnerGirl’s tagline. This seems to be the method I have unconsciously adopted as C.M.L. increases the length  of my runs. Todays run was thirty minutes, the furthest that I have run continuously so far. When I was doing run/walk/run, my run phases were generally done at a pace of 7 min/km or better, but now that I am only running I seem to have subconsciously slowed my pace to between 7:15 and 7:30 min/km. It makes sure that I can get round without stopping .

There were no new personal bests today. I think they will have to wait until I start to try to consciously improve my speed. At the moment I am trying to make sure that I can actually manage the distance.

I have also decided that early mornings are the best time to go for a run, at least at this time of the year. I might reconsided going out a 06:15 in January when it is pitch black and horizontal sleat is coming straight at you. In July, it is cool, bright and quiet, perfect conditions.

Saturday is my race of truth. Last Saturday I did the Roundshaw Downs Parkrun as a run/walk/run. This Saturday I plan to run the full distance. If I succeed then I will call myself a 5k runner and might even consider myself slightly “Awesome”.

As usual today’s run is on Strava.

One thought on “COUCH TO 5K DAY 23”

Feel free to add your 2 pence/2¢/bawbee's worth (delete as appropriate)

