Cycling in Dorset: Part 3

 On the Friday,after we had returned from our Thomas Hardy day out around Dorchester, I decided I wanted to explore a bit more of NCR26.

NCR26NCR26Elv

As we had ridden most of the route south of Cattistock I decided to head north to see what was there. It was a little bit easier ride than the last two, all of the ride was on tarmac and there were no super long super steep hills. It was still up and down a bit though.

The views weren’t quite as spectacular as the other rides because I stuck to the valley road, but there were a few interesting things on the way. I came across this sign mounted on a bridge just north of Rampisham:
BridgeSign

So I hope leaning my bike against the bridge while I took the photo didn’t injure it.

I decided that I wanted to do about an hour, which on my touring bike at my current state of fitness is about 20 km or 12½ miles if you still use imperial. However please see

Rule 24

  1. Rule #24
    Speeds and distances shall be referred to and measured in kilometers.

    This includes while discussing cycling in the workplace with your non-cycling coworkers, serving to further mystify our sport in the web of their Neanderthalic cognitive capabilities. As the confused expression spreads across their unibrowed faces, casually mention your shaved legs. All of cycling’s monuments are measured in the metric system and as such the English system is forbidden.

The ride itself was enjoyable but as Grace decided to stay home I didn’t have anyone to pace me up the hills. I stopped on the way back to take a few photos of the Frome Valley.

Frome Valley
Frome Valley
20150918_174447
Frome Valley
20150918_124825
Thomas Hardy’s Cottage
One thought on “Cycling in Dorset: Part 3”

Feel free to add your 2 pence/2¢/bawbee's worth (delete as appropriate)

