The_Magic_Roundabout_Zebedee_wallpaper

Re-sprung boing, boing

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

As Zebedee said “Time for bed”. Which may be a clue to getting the spring back in my step. To many late nights for good and bad reasons slow me up. Actually it’s not the late nights that cause the problems it is the early mornings. I’m fine going to bed at 2:00 a.m. provided I don’t have to get up again before 10.

It is the middle of winter here in the Northern Hemisphere and although the days are gradually getting longer it is not properly light until eight and it is getting dark again by four. That’s on a good day, on one that we actually see the sun. If it is a normal London winter’s day, overcast, dank and if not actually raining, threatening to rain or sleet but hardly ever snow, it can feel as if we will never see the sun again. Other than having to earn enough to pay the rent and buy the food, there isn’t that much incentive to get out of a nice warm bed in the morning.

Some sort of re-springing at this time of year is highly desirable. If we wait for Spring to naturally give us out bounce back, we may find that the cold and damp has rusted our spring so much that we can`t bounce any more.

Suggestions please; detox, gym, any more?

Detox , what exactly does that mean? If it means not drinking quite as much as we did around Christmas time then I’m OK with that. I might even go as far as a friend of mine who has stated that he is going to have a ‘dry’ January, when pressed on the details he explained “I’m not drinking anything except Sauvignon blanc for the month”. If it means surviving on some green goo, extracted  from various root vegetables, then sorry count me out.

Back to the gym say some people, and I agree with them. I will try to get back into exercising regularly (my spell checker just tried to change that to exorcising – same thing?) but, well I have this Blogging 101 course that I am trying to do. It might take a back seat for a while.

Actually I do know the thing that will really truly re-spring my step in the cold dark depths of winter. A secret formula passed down through generations of Scots, ………..
that miraculous substance known as Porridge. A bowl of porridge with a teaspoon of honey or golden syrup and possibly a tot of whisky stirred in, that is what is will put the spring back into your step.

And as Zebedee said …

2 thoughts on “Re-sprung boing, boing”

Feel free to add your 2 pence/2¢/bawbee's worth (delete as appropriate)

