Bridge @ Norham

Bike ride to Scotland: Part 6 Wooler to Duns

Day 6 – 09/05/2003 (Friday) Wooler to Duns

Friday morning dawned bright and clear over Wooler. After a breakfast of porridge and toast I set off on the last leg of the trek to Duns (and what should have been last night’s evening meal). I was now back in the part of the world that I grew up in, on roads that I cycled long ago.

It was an easy day, just under thirty miles to ride and while it wasn’t flat there were no serious hills or wind to contend with. I decided to take the back road via Ford and Etal crossing the Tweed into Scotland at Norham. For the first part of the journey (as far as Norham) I followed National Cycle Route 68 although I ignored the off-road bits. Once you climb out of the valley of the River Till there are spectacular views across to the Cheviot Hills. Just over half way I crossed the Tweed into Scotland.

Writing about the Tweed and the Till reminded me of a dark little poem that I learned at school. The Battle of Flodden was fought near here and I think that the poem has its origin in the aftermath of battle.

Says Tweed tae Till,
“Why dae ye rin sae still?”
Says Till tae Tweed,
“Though ye rin wi’ speed,
whaer ye droon ae man
A droon twa”.

I was now in Scotland and took a photo of my bike to prove it

I forgot to take a picture of Norham Castle, so you will have to make do with Turner’s take on the scene.

After just over an hour’s ride through the rolling Berwickshire countryside I had reached my destination

By the time I had finished my shower and changed out of my cycling gear, Mum had lunch ready for me. It was a satisfying feeling to sit down to lunch knowing that I had cycled all the way from London to eat it. Later on my sister turned up with the pick-up to take Mum and I down to her house for dinner. I could have cycled there, it’s not much more than fifteen miles, but I was back wearing my normal clothes and I had done what I set out to do, so I put the bike in the back of the pick-up. Later on my brother and his wife turned up and we had a bit of a family reunion over my sister’s excellent food and probably a wee bit too much wine.

One thought on “Bike ride to Scotland: Part 6 Wooler to Duns”

  1. Really enjoyed reading about your ride to Scotland. I can remember when you did it and speaking to you occasionaly so I could update Mrs. M, a task you had set me, only to find out you were updating her in Canada as well.
    Lord W

    Like

Feel free to add your 2 pence/2¢/bawbee's worth (delete as appropriate)

