Interesting time-trial results at the Tour of California

Yesterday’s (20 May) Tour of California time-trial threw up what for me was a quite interesting result. Not so much that Dave Zabriskie won the stage, in what was a record time for the course, what caught my attention were the results from the women’s time-trial that was run on the same course just before the men’s race.

What I have done in the table below is to superimpose the results of the women’s time-trial on the results from the men’s. Although none of the women came close to beating the top men, all but two of them finished with times that were better than some of the elite of the male professional peleton. The winner of the women’s race Kristin Armstrong (no relation and not his ex-wife) would have finished 94th which is more than respectable.

In the United Kingdom we have had women in the past such as Beryl Burton and Yvonne MacGregor who could compete with and beat the men. Beryl Burton famously broke the British 12 hour time-trial record by catching and passing Mike McNamara who was on his way to setting a new British Men’s record. Yvonne MacGregor found that the men who were scheduled to start anything up to five minutes before her, frequently pulled out of the time trial, not wanting to be caught and passed by a woman.

However, Beryl Burton and Yvonne MacGregor were in the main competing against amateurs, good amateurs, but amateurs never the less. The men Kirstin Armstrong and the other women were up against (indirectly) were some of the top professionals in the world. Nick Nuyens whose time was beaten by four of the women won this years Ronde Van Vlaanderen..

I suppose I should add a couple of caveats: The women were racing a one-off event and not one stage in an eight stage race. They are some of the best female time-trialists in the world, and a lot of the men, like Nick Nuyens, are not exactly famed for their time-trialing abilities.

It is still, I think an impressive performance by all the women concerned.

Combined results Men’s & Women’s Time trial
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 David Zabriskie (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 30:36
2 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team RadioShack 00:14
3 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) HTC-Highroad 00:40
…………………… …..
90 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad 03:51
91 Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo
92 Jesus Del Nero Montes (Spa) Team NetApp 03:53
93 Anders Lund (Den) Leopard Trek
Kristin Armstrong (USA) Peanut Butter & Co/Twenty12 03:54
94 Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 03:55
95 Karl Menzies (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 03:59
96 Andrew Pinfold (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 04:00
97 Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank Sungard 04:01
98 Tom Zirbel (USA) Jamis – Sutter Home 04:02
99 Martin Pedersen (Den) Leopard Trek
100 Alexander Candelario (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies – OptumHealth 04:03
Amber Neben (USA) HTC-Highroad 04:07
101 Jose Fernando Antogna (Arg) Jamis – Sutter Home 04:09
102 Robert Forster (Ger) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
103 Jonathan Patrick McCarty (USA) Team Spidertech 04:11
104 Yannick Eijssen (Bel) BMC Racing Team 04:12
105 Luca Damiani (Ita) Kenda/5-hour Energy 04:13
106 Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis – Sutter Home 04:14
107 Anibal Andres Borrajo (Arg) Jamis – Sutter Home 04:15
108 Lucas Euser (USA) Team Spidertech Powered By C10 04:17
109 James Driscoll (USA) Jamis – Sutter Home 04:18
110 Jeremy Powers (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Kenda 04:21
111 Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz) Team RadioShack
112 Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team NetApp 04:22
113 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team NetApp 04:30
114 Jonas Aaen Jorgensen (Den) Saxo Bank Sungard 04:32
Charlotte Becker (Swe) HTC-Highroad 04:32
Evelyn Stevens (USA) HTC-Highroad 04:32
115 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Saxo Bank Sungard 04:33
116 Kevin Lacombe (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10 04:38
117 Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team 04:39
Emma Pooley (GBr) Garmin-Cervelo 04:42
118 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Kenda/5-hour Energy 04:42
119 Martin Gilbert (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10 04:43
120 Alex Hagman (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Kenda 04:48
121 Alastair Loutit (Aus) Jelly Belly p/b Kenda 04:51
122 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Team Type 1 – Sanofi Aventis 04:52
123 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) HTC-Highroad
Tara Whitten (Can) Team Tibco 04:53
124 Andrew Bajadali (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies – OptumHealth 04:55
125 Andy Guptill (USA) Jamis – Sutter Home 05:06
126 Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team NetApp 05:12
Amanda Miller (USA) HTC-Highroad 05:15
127 Ken Hanson (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Kenda 05:17
128 Dan Bowman (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies – OptumHealth 05:22
129 Stefan Denifl (Aut) Leopard Trek 05:32
Rhae Shaw (Can) Hagens Berman Cycling 05:30
Alison Starnes (USA) Peanut Butter & Co/Twenty12 05:35
Emilia Fahlin (Swe) HTC-Highroad 05:44
130 Will Routley (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10 05:45
Janel Holcomb (USA) Colavita Forno d’Asolo 06:18
131 Alejandro Alberto Borrajo (Arg) Jamis – Sutter Home 06:45
Heather Jackson (USA) Trek/K-Swiss 06:56
Jessica Phillips (USA) Team Ajax Tavern 07:10

Feel free to add your 2 pence/2¢/bawbee's worth (delete as appropriate)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.